Washington  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 3:23 pm

Legal Question


How hard is it to have a name removed from a home title in the State of Washington? Can it just be filling out a quit deed form, having it notorized, and sending it to the correct place?

Thanks

Amanda Fisher


question bubble
11/18/09, 5:44 pm

Legal Answer


Assuming that there is no mortgage on the property, and you are granting your interest in the property to someone else, then yes, you would just do a quit claim deed and have it recorded. You should however be aware that depending on the circumstances the conveyance of property by quit claim deed may give rise to a taxable event. You consult an attorney or accountant familiar with this process.

James Vasquez

In Pacta, PLLC 801 2nd Ave Suite 307 Seattle, WA 98104

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search