Washington  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 2:53 pm

Legal Question


I was never married to the other title holder on my house.

The house is $33,000 behind in payments.

He wants to sign a QuitClaim.

Can I then qualify to get my payments lowered using only my income even though he is financially responsible but he will not be on the title.


question bubble
11/17/09, 5:26 pm

Legal Answer


Financing and title are two separate issues. He can quit claim it to you. Whether you can finance it is another matter you would have to have the income to support financing the property. You may encounter another problem if he quit claims it to you in the form of real estate excise taxes and also you may want to review the income tax implications of receiving the property.

Christopher Steuart

IT Forensics, Inc. 11206 Des Moines Memorial Drive S, Suite 104 Seattle, WA 98168

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search