Washington  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/12/09, 10:36 am

Legal Question


My mother owns a life tenancy on a tri-plex unit in a retirement community in WA. When she dies, the life tenancy will be re-sold and her heirs will receive 20% of the proceeds from the sale. Is there a way to put a TOD on the proceeds of that sale to avoid probate?


question bubble
11/17/09, 12:01 pm

Legal Answer


There are easy ways and not so easy ways, all depending on how the people involved relate to and trust each other, your mother's mental condition and other assets that may need to be also considered. It may not be complicated, depending on which fork in the path needs to be taken.

Charles Cruikshank

Cruikshank Law Office-Since 1975 108 S. Washington St. #306 Seattle, WA 98104

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search