West Virginia  |  Family Law

question bubble
3/13/03, 3:18 pm

Legal Question


Child Adoption and Child Support Laws

8 years ago my husband had a child with his girlfriend and the lived in West Virginia. They split up & she kept the child. They were never married and he waived all his rights and moved back to California. He has been paying child support. He was contact and told that the ex girlfriends husband wanted to adopt my husbands child and they needed his agreement. (she now lives in Mississippi with her husband) My husband refused but took no action over it. First if he took no action could the adoption have gone through due to non-response? and second if this man did adopt my husband child is my husband still liable for child support?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search