Wisconsin  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
7/12/07, 2:30 pm

Legal Question


revokable living trust

My mother passed away in Wisconsin in February of this year and I'm relatively sure she had a revokable living trust. She and her husband (not my father) set it up before his death abt 4 years ago. He left a sizable estate (well over 1 million) and this was provisioned for my mother for the remainder of her life. A large portion of this 'trust' (as I understood it) would be divided amongst his heirs (two daughters and families) and my mother's heirs (myself and my half-sister who lives in Wisconsin as well, upon her death. My half-sister managed to obtain all of my mother's personal belongings, i.e. jewelry, house furnishings, condo(the latter not listed with the trust and from what I gathered the 'trustees' on her husband's side were very unhappy about) over the course of the last four years during my mother's rapid decline of health.

For financial reasons I was unable to go to Wisconsin for the funeral and really feel left in the dark with regard to what procedures, legal or otherwise, are going on .

My gut feeling tells me I should have a lawyer but I don't have the money to post a retainer.

Can you give me any ideas on where I should start in researching this matter? I can use all the help I can get.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search