Wisconsin  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
1/24/08, 9:44 pm

Legal Question


Bankruptcy Means Test

I understand the Means Test is designed to not allow higher income families to file for Chapter 7. I've read some information that states if your debt is business debt rather than consumer debt, you can be exempt from the means test. My question is - I started a business 4 years ago. Rather than taking a salary I took draws from my credit cards. I effectively became the companies bank for a couple years. Is that debt consumer since it was on my credit cards or can it be considered Business debt since I can verify that the company paid me nothing via my taxes over those years?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search