Wisconsin  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/09/08, 11:53 am

Legal Question


liability

We are considering having a party at a local establishment in which we will pay for drinks and food for our employees and a customers employees. Is there any liability to us as a company if something happens after they leave this establishment


question bubble
1/09/08, 12:09 pm

Legal Answer


Re: liability

If you don't own the establishment where it's going to take place, then you and your guests should be in the same position as any other bar patrons, and the establishment's owners and bartenders would be the ones responsible for insuring that anybody who appears to be too intoxicated to serve gets their drinks cut off. Though I don't think that you'd share any liability, as guests of the establuishment, it of course still wouldn't hurt for you to keep an eye on your own guests, too. Have a good time!

Jeffrey Murrell

Law Office of Jeffrey L. Murrell P.O. Box 579 Milwaukee, WI 53201

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/09/08, 12:10 pm

Legal Answer


Re: liability

If you don't own the establishment where it's going to take place, then you and your guests should be in the same position as any other bar patrons, and the establishment's owners and bartenders would be the ones responsible for insuring that anybody who appears to be too intoxicated to serve gets their drinks cut off. Though I don't think that you'd share any liability, as guests of the establishment, it of course still wouldn't hurt for you to keep an eye on your own guests, too. Have a good time!

Jeffrey Murrell

Law Office of Jeffrey L. Murrell P.O. Box 579 Milwaukee, WI 53201

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/09/08, 12:10 pm

Legal Answer


Re: liability

If you don't own the establishment where it's going to take place, then you and your guests should be in the same position as any other bar patrons, and the establishment's owners and bartenders would be the ones responsible for insuring that anybody who appears to be too intoxicated to serve gets their drinks cut off. Though I don't think that you'd share any liability, as guests of the establishment, it of course still wouldn't hurt for you to keep an eye on your own guests, too. Have a good time!

Jeffrey Murrell

Law Office of Jeffrey L. Murrell P.O. Box 579 Milwaukee, WI 53201

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search