Wisconsin  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/06/07, 8:54 am

Legal Question


Restaurant Reviews

Hello, I am starting an online Restaurant Review company. I have been researching my ideas for quite some time now. My question is this...What things should I consider, my area concern lies with a negative review. If I write a negative review about an experience that I had, are there any legal ramifications? Can they sue me for slander, or does this fall under the freedom of speach law? I live on the border of the states of Michigan and Wisconsin, but hope to carry this nationwide.


question bubble
11/06/07, 12:00 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Restaurant Reviews

You really should retain independent, legal counsel for this instead of posting a broad, loosey-goosey legal question to a freebie forum like this. Generally, what I can tell you here is that you must insure that what you state publicly about the restaurants and their food is clearly marked somehow as your opinion and only your opinion. There are so many other things that must be addressed that cannot possibly be here, though, so, again, pay an attorney in your area who can give you thorough, competent legal guidance about it all.

Jeffrey Murrell

Law Office of Jeffrey L. Murrell P.O. Box 579 Milwaukee, WI 53201

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search