Wisconsin | Business Law
Legal Question
Slander?
I'm wondering if I could get into trouble if I post engine parts for sale online which are out of an expensive engine that blew up with only 20 miles on it.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sean Sweeney |
Re: Slander? I am not sure what you mean by "Slander". Slander and libel tend to be causes of action against people who make knowingly false statements against your reputation either by voice (slander) or in print (libel). If you are selling these engine parts and claiming they are brand new, and not disclosing where they came from, then yes you may be liable under any number of fraud statutes or common law fraud. Wisconsin has a specific statute, 100.18 which specifically prohibits any false statements made to induce someone to purchase a product or service. It seems if you lied about the origin of the parts you would fall squarely into the violation that the 100.18 statute covers.
So, be sure to disclose the source of the parts. |
Top Attorneys in WI
Schober Schober & Mitchell, S.C.
New Berlin, WI
Questions Answered: 342
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Cassiani Law Office, Wise Shepherd Law Office
Green Bay, WI
Questions Answered: 317
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-03
Tosa Law Office
Wauwatosa, WI
Questions Answered: 47
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-27
Attorney at Law
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
PAUL PIASKOSKI, LLC
Fountain Hills, AZ
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-14
Reigel Law Firm, Ltd./Aero Legal Services
Hopkins, MN
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-23
Maurice|Maxwell Mediation, LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
DeVos & Zerbst, S.C.
Madison, WI
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-02
Joshua T. Keleske, P.L.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-13
Law Office of Timothy Canning
Arcata, CA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-10-03
Search Questions and Answers


