Wisconsin | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Right to remain silent beyond the matter at hand
If stopped by police for a traffic stop or other incidental contact, you often see the officer asking a slew of questions not related to the reason for the stop. (Where are you coming from?, what are you doing?, why are you here?, etc)
Does a person have to answer these ''fishing'' questions? And if not, what is a non comfortational way to state ones desire not to talk about matters unrelated to the specific reason for the contact?
Legal Answer
Re: Right to remain silent beyond the matter at hand
Those are drug profile questions designed to see if you may be transporting illegal drugs. You have no obligation to answer any of them, and stating that your lawyer advised you not to answer any questions posed by law enforcement without him/her present is probably the most diplomatic way to handle the situation.
Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984
► Other answers from this attorney

