Re: Is there separation of church and state?
Does a true separation of Church and State exist? I believe so.
The framers of the constitution were ordinary men in extraordinary times.They could not possibly know what the current USA would be like, but predicting the future was not necessary to their purposes, nor, regarding your question about "christian morals" was it necessary for them to have any particular religion in mind.
The Bill of Rights is about freedom from tyranny,
in this case, the tyranny of King George as viewed by the colonists in colonial America.
In the case of the First Amendment the government is suposed to be neutral as regards religious beliefs.
I have always thought the Declaration of Independence was one of the most stirring statements of moral right and wrong ever witten.
What the framers did was announce their formation of this Country to the other nations in Europe in such a manner so they would at least be able to trade, send ambassadors and not be looked at as if the colonies were merely a bunch of revolutionary rabble.
They also had to set up a system of realistic rules to guide the new born nation or it would have fallen apart a lot sooner then the civil war.
By setting forth the principals that the British
were violating, the drafters of the and the Bill of Rights established their grievances against Britain, and justified the means of Revolution used to form a democracy dedicated to upholding those "self evident principals." And guaranteed these rights to all of our citizens.
The Fist Amendmant states that congress shall "make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof." Essentially that means that the Congress should not be able to kick people out of the country based on their religious beliefs
as happened to the original pilgrams, who were protestants fleeing from persecution.
Nor should they form a USA religion, or favor one over another which has been grounds for challenging the Pledge of Allegance in Public School. The "under god" clause doesn't favor any particular religion, it just makes atheists uncomfortable.
In my view that is sufficient to make it an unconstitutional exercise of governmental power;
however, so long as no one is unduly harmed, the pledge shall remain around, subject to parental explanation.