What are the legal ramifications for carrying a UNconcealed ASP baton (collapsable baton) in Wisconsin. Do you need a permit? How do you get one if needed? If one were strapped to your leg while on a motorcycle would that cause any problems with Wisconsin/Motor Vehical laws?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Regardless of the legalities of openly carrying this or any other weapon, WI has an extremely broad disorderly conduct statute which prohibits any conduct under circumstances which are "likely to provoke a disturbance." If a DA can prove this to a jury beyond any reasonable doubt, you could be convicted and fined up to $1,000.00 and/or imprisoned for up to 90 days for each behavior. Many municipalities also have unique weapons ordinances of doubtful constitutionality which are often enforced against persons who carry weapons openly at "the wrong place and the wrong time" in the opinion of a police officer. The only way to find out for sure if such laws violate your second amendment constitutional rights is to litigate them fully through the court system. Win, lose or draw, this could prove to be a very expensive proposition for you. My comments here are not intended as legal advice except in the extremely limited fashion outlined in your agreement with law guru, which does not limit me from representing opposing interests against you (particularly since I do not even know the name of the adverse party. My response here is therefore not intended to create a traditional attorney client relationship, although I would be more than happy to discuss possible representation with you via a private email, phone call or via the inquiry link on my office website.
Related Questions & Answers
How common is it to be asked to come to the D.A.'s office to see if you will be... Asked 1/12/10, 2:42 pm in United States Wisconsin Criminal Law
Even though a wife cannot be compeled to testify against her husband, can she be... Asked 1/08/10, 12:05 pm in United States Wisconsin Criminal Law
My son's ex girlfriend used my credit card without my permission to charge $300... Asked 1/04/10, 4:45 pm in United States Wisconsin Criminal Law
I left my friends house to walk home. It was about 1am and I turned around and saw a... Asked 1/01/10, 9:28 pm in United States Wisconsin Criminal Law
My husband has a prior MISDEMEANOR conviction of sex with a minor OLDER than 16 (but... Asked 12/30/09, 12:16 pm in United States Wisconsin Criminal Law