Wisconsin | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Even though a wife cannot be compeled to testify against her husband, can she be forced to release evidence of his guilt? Such as letters written to her by her husband admitting to his crime.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Murrell |
Wis. Stat. §905.05 outlines the scope of the husband-wife privilege in Wisconsin. It only protects “communication” between spouses (i.e., what is said or told to one spouse by another – not what one spouse has seen or heard otherwise), unless the accused spouse is charged with a crime against the person of the other spouse (i.e., his or her body), or the property or children of the other spouse. It also does not apply when charges of prostitution or pandering is charged against one spouse. Also, it does not apply if the spouse you want to keep from testifying has acted as the accused spouse’s official “agent” of communication and the communication relates to matters that have to do with the scope of the agency. Clear enough? You just have to love how complicated they make all this! |
Top Attorneys in WI
NIXON LAW OFFICES
Racine, WI
Questions Answered: 1469
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Jeffrey L. Murrell
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-12
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Tosa Law Office
Wauwatosa, WI
Questions Answered: 47
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-27
Attorney at Law
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
Robert T. Ruth, Attorney at Law
Madison, WI
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-23
Law Office of Sandra Glodowski
Baraboo, WI
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-28
Appellate Counsel
Madison, WI
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-09-10
Lakeland Law Firm, LLC
Pewaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-11
Law Offices of Andrew Mishlove
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-23
Search Questions and Answers


