Wisconsin | Family Law
Legal Question
If both parties file for a divorce at the same time but in different counties how does the state decide which county the divorce will be filed in?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Murrell |
The divorce will continue in the county where it was filed first, provided all residency requirements are met there by the filing spouse. The divorce filed subsequent to the first one should be dismissed in the county where it was filed after the first one was filed, provided all residency requirements are met there and provided the other spouse does not meet all residency requirements in the other county where he or she filed first. That's accomplished by way of filing a motion in the first county. Tricky, isn't it? That's why you need a lawyer. If you don't have one, get one ASAP to fully protect all of your rights. |
Top Attorneys in WI
Cassiani Law Office, Wise Shepherd Law Office
Green Bay, WI
Questions Answered: 317
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-03
Law Office of Jeffrey L. Murrell
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-12
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Romero Law Office
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-04-05
Attorney at Law
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
Gray, Hudec & Oleniczak
East Troy, WI
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-08-02
Law Office of Dawn Marie Mondus
Andover, MN
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-25
Maurice|Maxwell Mediation, LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
RSM Law Firm, LLC
Franklin, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Lakeland Law Firm, LLC
Pewaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-11
Search Questions and Answers


