Wisconsin | Family Law
Legal Question
What rights does a father have to visitation when he is paying child support. The mother promises him visitation and then plays games with him. Changes her mind at the last minute. She promises him a weekend and then takes it away and makes new rules.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Murrell |
This story gets replayed over and over again in family court. It sounds like you have a garden-variety placement arrangement in place in the current court order ("reasonable visitation upon reasonable notice"). Or maybe you do have specific days/times spelled out in the standing court order, but the child's mother has one excuse after another (the child "has soccer practice to make up tonight" or the child's "not feeling well"). When the other parent starts up with the latter type of game playing, it's time to go back to court with a motion to have the other parent show cause why she should not be held in contempt for not following the standing order and facilitating visitation as ordered. You may not withold child support as a remedy. You must ask the court to enforce the current order, or even change it in cases like this where the other parent cannot be relied on to make a good-faith effort to comply. |
Top Attorneys in WI
Cassiani Law Office, Wise Shepherd Law Office
Green Bay, WI
Questions Answered: 317
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-03
Law Office of Jeffrey L. Murrell
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-12
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Romero Law Office
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-04-05
Attorney at Law
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
Gray, Hudec & Oleniczak
East Troy, WI
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-08-02
Law Office of Dawn Marie Mondus
Andover, MN
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-25
Maurice|Maxwell Mediation, LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
RSM Law Firm, LLC
Franklin, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Lakeland Law Firm, LLC
Pewaukee, WI
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-11
Search Questions and Answers


