Wisconsin  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
2/15/07, 5:07 pm

Legal Question


FMLA leave

I have recently given birth to a child. My doctor has released me to return to work on 2/19/07. My employer is telling me I have 6 weeks of FMLA beginning 2/19/07.

My question is:

Must I take all 6 weeks in one chunk? Or, may I break the 6 weeks into 2 chunks as long as both chunks fall within 16 weeks of the birth?

(I teach and am ''off contract'' for 1 week of spring break. My employer wants to charge me FMLA for that week. So, I am wondering if I can use FMLA for the weeks leading up to my ''off contract week'', then return to work for my ''off contract week'' and then go back on FMLA for my remaining balance of the 6 weeks).


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search