Wisconsin | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Waiver and Consent
Yesterday I received the will of my recently deceased grandmother from the law firm representing her estate. She named her pastor as Personal Representative/Beneficiary. Her estate is estimated to be $126,000. From reading the will, it looks as if everything is going to the pastor. The wording in the cover letter calls me an ''heir/interested party'' and I'm asked to sign a waiver and consent form. In the body of the will, she states that nothing is to be left to me ''other than
specifically herein provided''.
I am her only living family. My father predeceased her. My grandmother objected to my father's marrying my mother for religious and other reasons and she estranged herself from us. Should I sign this form and by doing so, am I relinquishing any claim to the will? Do I have any standing? Do I need to hire a Wisconsin attorney? I just got laid off my job and cannot afford expensive legal action. I'm supposed to sign this form and return it by 1-04-02.


