Wyoming  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
10/31/09, 3:17 am

Legal Question


i am a 14 girl and i am dating a 22 year old guy. Is this legal in the state of Wyoming?


question bubble
11/05/09, 1:56 pm

Legal Answer


I am a FL attorney (not Wyoming), but I don't know that there are any Wyoming attorneys on LawGuru who may answer you. So, I looked-up the relevant Wyoming statute for you. In short, it is illegal in Wyoming for a 22 year old to have sexual contact with a 14 year old. See relevant Wyoming statute pasted below:

6-2-315. Sexual abuse of a minor in the second degree; penalties.

(a) Except under circumstance constituting sexual abuse of a minor in the first degree as defined by W.S. 6-2-314, an actor commits the crime of sexual abuse of a minor in the second degree if:

(i) Being seventeen (17) years of age or older, the actor inflicts sexual intrusion on a victim who is thirteen (13) through fifteen (15) years of age, and the victim is at least four (4) years younger than the actor;

. . .

(b) A person convicted under subsection (a) of this section is subject to imprisonment for not more than twenty (20) years, unless the person convicted qualifies under W.S. 6-2-306(e).

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search