Legal Question in Banking Law in India

Hello sir,

My uncle just passed away a month ago and I had a few questions regarding his assets.

He had a house in Goa and a flat in Mumbai which he already had a will .

He was married but have been living separately for 15 years and had his kids get the house and the flat in his will.

Now to his money .. He has 6 FD in corporation bank in Goa .

1 shows a nominee (his sister)

The other 5 does not show any nominee on the FD , so we approached the bank with the death certificate to find out who the nominee was but the bank refused to let us know the information .

What suggestion would you give to find out who the nominee is????

Would be really great full for ur kind advice

Thank you

Asked on 1/30/16, 11:56 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Fca Prashant Chavan Expert Edge LLP


Dear Sir / Madam,

A Probate is required for a Will. Alternatively, a Succession Certificate may be obtained to establish the legal heirs to the estate of the deceased.


Read more
Answered on 1/31/16, 3:36 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in India