Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in India

My question is Does my Step Mother have a right over my deceased Mothers property?

My mother passed away 6 years back and my father passed away 6 months back. My father re married and the marriage lasted 4 years until he passed away and he did not have any child out of his second marriage. But step mother has had a daughter from her first marriage.

What rights does step mother have in my mothers property? (Property is still till today in the name of my mother, we haven't got it changed). She is claiming my mothers property.

Asked on 4/01/16, 4:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sudershan Goel India Law Offices of Sudershan Goel - Advocate

No, your mother mother's property cannot be inherited by your step mother. You are the only legal heir of property belonging to your mother.

Read more
Answered on 4/02/16, 9:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in India