Legal Question in Consumer Law in India

During our recent trip to Goa (4 nov-14 nov 2016), we were approached by agents of a holiday travel company who gave a presentation of a 'promotional' package where one has to make a one time payment (3.25 lacs) and subsequent bi-annual installments of 'maintenance fee' (~28,000/-) for 30 years. By making bi-annual payments one gets points which can be used to purchase stay (in a particular category) for one week in any of the properties owned by the company or their affiliates.

We found the package interesting and wanted a few days to think it over. But the representatives of the company told us that the promotional offer is valid only for the day, it being their 22nd anniversary etc.. Eventually to avail the so called promotional offer we signed the offer and some contract forms. We were told at the time that any money paid was non-refundable.

Now we realize that the package is not good for us. We also found that there are a lot of online complaints of the same company regarding the same issue. It seems that their 'promotional offer of the day' goes round the year and tourists coming to Goa are their main targets.

In light of all the above information, we want the refund of our advance money. Is that possible and how?

We have not contacted the company for the refund yet.


Asked on 11/16/16, 10:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Rajiv Gupta +91 9811284735 KarVai Legal Solutions www.karvai.in

you may send a legal notice and in case the company fails to refund, you may file a consumer complaint.

Read more
Answered on 11/18/16, 1:50 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in India