Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in India


Actually my dad has taken a lot of debt from both formal and informal sources and someone said to me that it would be my pious obligation to pay the debt in case he is unable to do so which is most probable. So what should I do since I don't want this burden to ever fall on me since I have nothing to do of that money. What's the legal solution to this? Is getting separated legally a solution?

Please help regarding this.

Asked on 7/09/21, 3:53 am

1 Answer from Attorneys


Yes, getting legally seperated is one solution.

But you will then lose any right to his properties /assets.

If you do not inherit any property from him, then you are not liable to discharge his debts.

Read more
Answered on 7/23/21, 12:29 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in India