Legal Question in Criminal Law in India

A Christian friend of mine supports yoga but called certain aspects of yoga satanic while discussing with his Hindu colleague more than 3 years back via email. He has already apologized for his comments but the Hindu colleague has decided to file a case for blasphemy recently due to personal enmity.

Can the police prosecute the case once the statute of limitation period is over and arrest my friend? Can the police drop the case if an unconditional apology is given to them?

I think the statute of limitations for blasphemy case is 3 years.

Asked on 9/18/21, 4:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

The police action depends upon contents of complaint to be filed with police.

Read more
Answered on 9/18/21, 5:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in India