Legal Question in Criminal Law in India

Whats the legal status of live-in relation while divorce pending now that section 497 of IPC has been struck-down - that is after a wife files and applies for divorce and its pending in the court, can she enter into a live-in relation with a Man ?

And as a background to my question, would like to quote from CJI Mishra and Justice Chandrachud - during the hearing of the case in August-2018 “Adultery may not be the cause for a broken marriage but a consequence thereof. Many a time, a party to a marriage wants divorce after a marriage has broken down, but the case goes on for years in the court. If the woman finds solace, love and affection in another man, should that man be booked for adultery by her estranged husband just because the marriage has not been annulled through divorce ?”

Asked on 10/04/18, 4:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

To know in detail you may contact with me getting my information from the site.

Read more
Answered on 10/08/18, 12:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in India