Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in India

I am the owner of 2-floor house. On ground floor, I live with my family & 1st floor is given to tenant. We do not have any type of agreement for tenancy. They give rent properly per month. But they are living in my house for more than 10 years. Most of the times we receive rent in cash. Is there any law in India which make them owner of the house? If yes, how to avoid it?


Asked on 11/29/14, 4:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Rajiv Gupta +91 9811284735 KarVai Legal Solutions www.karvai.in

there has to be some proof of tenancy otherwise the person in possession may claim adverse possession after 12 years stay in the premises.

Regards

Adv. Rajiv

Read more
Answered on 11/30/14, 10:42 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in India