Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in India

Sir, when we give open ground on leave & license, the property tax as per terms of agreement is to be paid by the LICENCEE, if he constructs any shed. What if he does not get the area assessed and does not pay any property tax. The Leave & License agreement comes to an end and the Licencee goes away taking all his chattels.

The local authority subsequently raises a demand notice along with interest and penalty on the Licensor to whom the land belongs.

Now the question

Can the Licensor make a claim on the Licencee even after the expiry of the Agreement ? How should a licensor make the licensee liable in such a case please advice.

Asked on 5/06/19, 12:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sanjay. K. Dixit, Advocate. Sanjay K Dixit, Advocate @ Karnataka Bar Council Enrolement No: "KAR/898/2007"

Sir/Ma'am, It depends on law of contract 1872, and thus this will depends on nature of covenant parties to the contract through obligations.

Read more
Answered on 5/11/19, 1:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in India