Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in India


I'm a Hindu and my father left behind an un-registered will which is signed by two witnesses. As the sole executor of the will, I'm also one ofthe witnesses. My queries are:

1. Can the executor be a witness of the will?

2. For the immovable properties mentioned in the will, is the un-registered will sufficent or is a Relinquishment deed instead required?

3. Can i make a gift-deed (of money) in favour of my sisters from a joint account of my father and myself?


Asked on 7/09/14, 10:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Adv Meenal Kashyap M Kashyap & Associates

1. yes

2. yes

3.. first contact bank and update account status from joint to single.

Read more
Answered on 7/10/14, 9:13 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in India