Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Alabama

Payment Settlement

If I write a check for a service that is less than the amount billed and I mark my check "payment in full," is the debt "paid in full" if they cash the check?

Asked on 9/10/00, 2:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jon Lewis Lewis, Feldman, & Lehane, LLC

Re: Payment Settlement

If you can show that the original amount was in dispute, probably. However, if the original amount was not in dispute, you cannot pay less in hope of getting out of the debt.

Read more
Answered on 10/12/00, 9:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Alabama