Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Alabama

Options of a settlement

I was involved in an auto accident1/30/08 and am the defendant. The lawyer for the plaintiff has given me only one option to settle the case and that is to borrow the money for a lump sum settlement. I have asked to set up a payment system to pa y for the plaintiffs medical bill over time but the lawyer insists that his way is the only way he knows to get the settlement done and execute a release for the settlement. He has given me 5 days to give him an affirmative answer or he will take the case to court. He knows that I do not have a lawyer. I am prepared to represent myself in court should it come to that. I want to know what my options are as far asking for and getting a mutually agreeable way to settle the case. I am willing to make restitution to the plaintiff in the amount asked for but do not see how I can raise that much $ at this time. I have good credit and am optimistic about setting up a payment schedual with the medical people and can pay for some of the settlement at one time, but not the medical bill.

Asked on 6/08/08, 7:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Randal Ford Ford Firm

Re: Options of a settlement

The lawyer does NOT have to set up a payment plan. You need to CALL a lawyer on the phone to explain your situation and get some feedback.

Read more
Answered on 6/08/08, 9:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Alabama