Legal Question in Personal Injury in Alabama

GM..My daughter was arrested because of suspended license, warrant for her arrest for failure to appear in court on a no seatbelt ticket. Oct 2013 she went before the judge on her speeding and seatbelt ticket; he ordered her driving class. She provided completion of the ticket to the courts and was told everything was taken care of. She was arrested and spent 2days in jail because of this clerical error. The judge apologized gave me a letter admitting clerical error and instructed the dept of motor vehicle to reinstate her license at no charge to us. I was told when the clerk scanned in the speeding ticket to be cleared, they failed to clear the seatbelt ticket which resulted in the arrest, warrant, suspended licence. My daughter is a 20 year old full time student, works, and volunteers in the community, oh and never had legal issues. The treated her horrible. When I found out she was in jail. I started at 7am calling the jail.and I did not talk to her until 4pm . omg.. rude is an understatement. Long-short is it a possibility she can recover damages for her wrongful incarceration.

Asked on 2/04/14, 9:10 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jon Lewis Lewis, Feldman, & Lehane, LLC

Your daughter may have a claim. Was it a City or County?

Read more
Answered on 2/04/14, 9:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Alabama