Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Arkansas

real estate fraud

i purchased what i thought to be an acre of land and a home., now i find out that what i actually purchased was .40 acres. the other .60 acres is still owned by a lady that owned the property before the person i bought it from. the title to that property was never transfered to the person i bought the property from. my well is on the .60 acres. she was under the impression that she had sold the whole acre to the person i bought the property from. no one caught the mistake. she now wants $5000 from the person that i purchased it from before she will sign the title over to him so he can sign it over to me. i paid for a well inspection when i took out the loan for the property. what can i do to resolve this problem? i feel like some kind of fraud has taken place here. thanks

Asked on 4/29/09, 10:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys


Re: real estate fraud

Assuming you do not have an attorney on this matter, you should contact your Bank and the Real Estate Agent(s) who handled the deal. Assuming you had Title Insurance, you may want to do the same with them...

Read more
Answered on 4/29/09, 12:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Arkansas