Legal Question in Administrative Law in California

Fighting City Hall re: RV Parking

Two years ago, the City of Glendora wrote to us that we were in violation of one of their ordinances by parking our RV on our driveway. Apparently they passed a law in 1993 to prohibit RV parking where it can be seen from the street.

We went through the process and were "Grandfathered" as the City employee in charge of our case called it since we had the RV parked there since we purchased it in 1992. We gave him all the paperwork he requested. He verbally told us we had a permit for a waiver.

Several weeks ago, we got another notice of violation for the same RV in the same place. A new person is in charge of the case. She said the other guy no longer worked there and he was no good. She said they had thrown out (or lost as the now phrase it ) his file on us. They are making us redo all the paperwork, which we have done and are coming to inspect the work the day after Thanksgiving.

Can they legally deny us this waiver since we have had it on the driveway since 1992 prior to the passage of this law and since they failed to follow through on their original investigation in early 1998?

Asked on 11/23/99, 1:51 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ken Koury Kenneth P. Koury, Esq.

Re: Fighting City Hall re: RV Parking

this question cannot be answered without reading the statute. you need to have someone local read it for you.

Read more
Answered on 11/23/99, 11:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Administrative Law questions and answers in California