Legal Question in Banking Law in California

I deposited my weekly check at the atm since the bank was closed and they decided to return my check the next day because the check has my full legal name which has 4 names and in the bank they can only have your first middle and last name so they decided to return it and when I tried to pick up the Check they wouldn't give it to me cuz they said they have to mail me a copy of the check instead and was gonna take 5 business days to process and a week ago I came in to the branch to fix this problem the manager was nice enough to try and help me with this issue but all he did was add my middle initial after I gave him my ID with my full legal name to prevent this from coming up againand now I'm back with the same problem I don't think it's my fault that I have 4 names in my legal ID I don't believe that US bank can't do anything about this with all the resources you have I know there is a way. if you really can't do anything about this at least let me have my check back so I can negotiate this with the other bank and I know they will since it has my legal name same as my ID . The manager on Hollywood and western refused to give me my check when he has the physical check but instead he wants me to wait 5 business days to get a "legal copy of a check"can they do all of that?


Asked on 8/16/16, 2:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

Even if we give you all the legal analysis possible, there is nothing you are going to be able to do legally in under five days. The best advice I can give you is use direct deposit or change banks.

Read more
Answered on 8/16/16, 2:45 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in California