Legal Question in Bankruptcy in California

I'm preparing a proof of claim to submit in a client's Chapter 11 bankruptcy case. I will attach my contract and my most recent bills as exhibits, but I am not sure what information I should redact.

My bills describe the services I provided in detail. Some of those details are confidential, but are not legally privileged. My client would surely prefer not to let any of this information out, but only a few items could cause any real injury. Should I redact only what seems likely to cause harm, or may I redact other sensitive information as well?

Asked on 12/24/12, 5:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Avanesian Avanesian Law Firm

When in doubt redact and if there is an objection, you can always amend the claim with the unredacted version. I would keep the client's confidences unless there is reason not to.

Read more
Answered on 1/09/13, 1:06 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in California