Legal Question in Business Law in California

In the state of California, can you legally refuse to work extra days/overtime to your employer? Without penalty that is.

In the three years I've been employed by my company about a year~ year and a half of that I've been asked to come in and work Fridays (one of my days off). It's starting to interfere with my personal life and the overtime pay just isn't worth it for me any more.

Asked on 6/18/15, 6:13 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nicholas Spirtos Law Offices of Nicholas B. Spirtos

You can refuse. But it may cause your employer to find someone else or terminate you. If you are terminated, you may want to consult with a local employment attorney.

Read more
Answered on 6/22/15, 9:04 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in California