Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in California

I rented a condo for one year lease and within 2 weeks we ended the contract cuz we found snakes at the house ..

The owner wants to deduct money from my deposit with no right ... I told the owner that I will judge her and? get a compensation, can I do that

Additional information

we have seen 2 snakes in 5 days and I pictured them inside and outside the condo. and i moved after one week upon found the another place to live, me and my kids are very scared and i still feel scared after we moved, I informed the landlord about that but she says that there is a damage in a door so she will deduct money from the deposit for that reason and also for cleaning but there were no damage until we moved. I want to get my deposit back .. we suffered a lot specially for moving out after 2 weeks.

we ended the contract with the approval of the owner and the owner gave me back the rest of the month and she sent me a termination of the contract due to act of nature after we asked many terminators that they confirmed that there is no way guaranteed to kill the snakes or to make sure they won't come again.

anyway all I need is my right not more not less and we didn't damage any door as she says

Asked on 10/04/13, 1:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Armen Tashjian Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian

If you feel her charges are not correct and she refuses to make it right, sue her in the small claims court.

Read more
Answered on 10/05/13, 10:46 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in California