Legal Question in Construction Law in California

I installed a sliding door 18 or so years aprox. 2001 to 2002 a pozzi door. they sold out in the mid 90s to jel-wen the pozzi name was dropped in 2004 I was called a few years ago that the glass has moisture between it. I directed them to go on line and set up a service apt. they did nothing, 6 months ago they called and said their son broke the lock, I gave her names and numbers of a glass shop and the lumber yard rep. I called them to give them a company back east to maybe find the parts and left them information, never called back, last I heard they are wanting to take me and the lumber yard and sue us for a product that's old and out of business. do they have any leg to stand on over this problem

Asked on 2/22/20, 10:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gary Redenbacher Redenbacher & Brown, LLP

It sounds like they are past the statute of repose, which is 10 years in California. There are a few exceptions, but the vast majority of claims in the construction industry expire after 10 years.

Read more
Answered on 3/03/20, 3:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in California