Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

In 2015, I purchased a used 2011 BMW with 49,000 miles for $32,000 from a car dealership that provided me with a lifetime power warranty for as long as I owned the car. Last year while driving in my hometown, the car system suddenly alerted me that the engine was overheating and to pull over immediately. I pulled over and let the car cool off. It gave no prior warning and I was shocked. The car has been very well maintained. I had my car towed to the BMW dealership and they told me that my water pump went out. I called the dealership and they told me that the previous owner sold the dealership. Fortunately, the warranty covered the water pump. Two months later the engine started to squeal and I took it to the dealership. They told me that my oil filter housing gasket needed to be replaced and would cost at least $1,500 and as much as $3,500 if there was any damage to the engine. They told me that gaskets weren't covered under my warranty. I haven't been able to drive it for the past 3 months. I still owe $15,000 on my loan and I just drove it 20,000 miles in 4 years. The car's value if it was running is only between $5,317-$7,402 as per Kelly Blue Book. What are my rights under the "Lemon Law" or any other applicable law against the dealer or lender for this lemon?


Asked on 7/06/19, 11:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services

Gaskets are generally considered maintenance items, not warranty items. So I doubt you have any recourse.

Read more
Answered on 7/08/19, 11:16 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California