Legal Question in Consumer Law in California

My vehicle has been at a dealer for almost 2 months needing a replacement for a transmission. The problem is that part is not available, ETA kept changing and even from where it's coming from, and they don't provide loaners. I have an external/after market warranty that would cover the repair and a rental for 5 days @ $30/day. In the mean time, I'm already @ $2200 0n my rental. Since it's an internal issue (within Chrysler/Jeep) for the part that's needed, do I have a case to sue the dealer for the rental fees incurred so far and future fees for how much longer it would take get the part and fix my vehicle?


Asked on 4/22/22, 10:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

If you are out of warranty with the manufacturer they and the dealer have no legal obligation to you other than to do their best to complete the repair when they can.

Read more
Answered on 4/23/22, 11:18 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in California