Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

In CA, is a judgment (J) creditor entitled to past income information from a judgment (J) debtor? How many years of gross income info is a J creditor entitled to from J debtor? I thought judgment creditors were not allowed to get income tax information. Isn't gross income "income tax information" as that is where it is reported?


Asked on 12/26/21, 3:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

You are confusing "adjusted gross income" which is a tax form entry, and "gross income" which simply means all income of any kind from any source and is not a tax form number.

Read more
Answered on 12/27/21, 11:51 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California