Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

I have found a check written to me by an old friend for $700, while cleaning my apartment. It was written on November 20, 2013. It is now September 12, 2021. I called her up to ask if she would honor the check, she says the account it was written on is closed, and she will not pay the $700. What can i do?


Asked on 9/12/21, 6:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

I'm afraid there is nothing you can do. Any rights you had expired due to statutes of limitations two, three, or at most four years after the check was delivered.

Read more
Answered on 9/13/21, 2:51 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California