Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

I recently sold my 1990 Honda Accord and the person I sold it to never registered the car. About a month later, he got arrested and the car got impounded. I filed a Notice of Release of Liability (NLR) online with my local DMV about a couple of weeks after selling the car. The tow company sent me and the other person's fiance a notice that they were going to place a lien on the car and send to collections after the sell of the car on April 6th via auction. I went to the DMV and received proof that I filed the NRL and gave a copy to the sheriff's department as well as the tow company (as instructed by the DMV). Can the tow company still come after me for the impound fees?

Thank you

Asked on 3/25/16, 10:21 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Carl Starrett Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II

No, but that doesn't mean they won't try. Write a letter telling them that you will sue them for violating the Fair Credit Reporting Act and California's Rosenthal Act if they pursue this against you.

Read more
Answered on 3/26/16, 5:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California