Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

I worked as a independent contract graphic designer (remotely/telecommute) on 3 projects for about 3 months for a New York marketing agency. The Accountant Director reached out to me via email for the contract work and I was working directly with the CEO. The client has been dodging my invoices, calls, and emails since June 12th. We signed a standard "Independent Contractor and Services Agreement" with a on-going hourly rate agreement. The outstanding debt for the 3 projects is $1400.

I'm located in Los Angeles and this marketing agency is a New York based businesses. I have all the emails logged and the signed agreement if that is needed. What should I do?

Asked on 7/16/18, 2:00 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert F. Cohen Law Office of Robert F. Cohen

It sounds like a good case for small claims court. LA would be proper venue since that’s where you did the work.

Read more
Answered on 7/16/18, 2:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California