Legal Question in Criminal Law in California

My license is suspended because i didn't complete the dui program 10 years ago in california. I completed 5 months of the six month program. Can i use that as credit , or, get a lesser sentence if i go to court? What can i do ?

Asked on 9/14/13, 12:03 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq. Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At Law

All you have to do is complete the DUI program that you were given 10 years ago. Going to court is of no benefit to you.

Here is the bad news. You can't even use the 5 months that you completed for the six month program because in California, there is a mandatory policy to kick you out of the program if you have too many 3 absences within 21 days.

Therefore, I am sorry to tell you that you have to re-enroll in the program AND pay for it all over again.

I am just the messenger, I despise these harsh rules. Good Luck.

Read more
Answered on 9/14/13, 12:21 pm

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless

Only DMV rules apply to court ordered DUI programs, so contact DMV to determine what you must do. You will almost certainly have to sign up for, pay, and complete a new course. That is the penalty for you not complying with the court and DMV orders originally.

Read more
Answered on 9/17/13, 1:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in California