Legal Question in DUI Law in California

Arrested Dui-With Prior. This Time-not the Driver, no keys, driver had keys

Arrested for DUI. I was not the driver. Keys not found in ignition and/or on myself. Driver had keys. Designated driver picked me up from Chilies Sacramento. Others cut us off. We avoided collision. Avoiding collisions, we ended in ditch. Persons who cut us off stopped. My desigated driver asked for DL, insurance for damage to our vehicle for repair responsibility. They refused. My driver asked for phone, they refused, Driver asked for for ride to her house (2.5+mi), they refused. Driver stated walking home, still maintaining possesion of keys, to obtian AAA data and alternate cell, and left, leaving me far from the vehicle if Help showed. Persons whom cut me off started accusing me. CHP showed, witnesses still accused. CHP notified if driver's requests to other party and statements of her intent and return with necesary data to wait! Meantime, arrested.

Next date, 12/25-12/26, driver contacted CHP, left messages, 4 times, advising facts. 12/26, Driver personally went to CHP, advised facts to Issuing Officer's Sargent. Stated report not prepared. 12/27, another msg left for Issuing officer. Upn return call from Sargent, stated to Driver, credible witnesses, one an off-duty officer(whom did not identify at time), also accused h

Asked on 12/28/08, 1:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lyle Johnson Bedi and Johnson Attorneys at Law

Re: Arrested Dui-With Prior. This Time-not the Driver, no keys, driver had keys

You should retain an attorney to assist you in your defense. Calls from the designated driver are not likely to be successful.

Read more
Answered on 1/03/09, 11:30 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in California