Legal Question in Elder Law in California

I just got a jury summons. I am 70+ and don't want to serve with the Delta variant of COVID floating around. In order to avoid jury duty, I have to supply a physician's signed verification that there is something wrong with me that would preclude my service. This would require me to drive 30+ miles to get an excuse. Isn't this a violation of HIPAA? Assuming that geezers like me are jumping at the chance to serve is preposterous. I HAVE served on occasion and have been eligible for 50+ years. I was a state employee for 40 years and when I filled out an absence form, I did not have to provide the juicy details. Shouldn't the doctor's verification be waived? All 70 year olds have compromised immune systems- that's why we were given vaccine priority.


Asked on 6/25/21, 7:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

Don't tell anyone I told you this, but in my experience they never follow up if you just ignore the jury summons.

Read more
Answered on 6/26/21, 4:44 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in California