Legal Question in Elder Law in California

I am in San Diego and am looking for an elder abuse attorney. I was and still am the victim of an ID thief, whose ID is known and is on probation for the same crimes. I just experienced an 8 month ordeal because of this individual, who literally got into everything, bank accounts, took over my email, arranged to have Citibank send him my credit cards, was able to get on the phone app of my alarm system and control it, took over my Zell/Paypal accounts, set up manager accounts for Fed. Ex. and UPS so he could divert packages sent to me, as well as other credit card accounts, etc. Pretty much everything has been resolved with the exception of T-Mobile, who over a half dozen times between Oct. 15 and Nov. 13 of last year, allowed this individual to take over my phone number. In mid Nov. I finally went in, changed my phone number, dropped the postpaid account and got a prepaid account. Then in Feb. of this year, T-Mobile actually gave this individual my old phone number, and allowed him, while using fake ID in my name and SS#, to purchase a phone on credit and get service. Despite the fact I've called T-Mobile numerous times about this sorry situation, as well sending them a copy of my Affidavit of ID theft along with a copy of the police report and the Detective's phone number, T-Mobile is still saying I'm responsible and owe them in excess of 2.2K. In this case, and in my opinion, T-Mobile is guilty of breach of fiduciary duty in that they failed to safeguard my account even though I contacted them numerous times re this matter, and now because of how they're handling this, violation of the ID theft act not to mention elder abuse (I'll be 67 in Oct.). I am looking for an attorney who specializes in elder abuse and violations of the ID theft act here in the So. Cal area.


Asked on 8/20/22, 2:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

You should contact the lawyer referral service of the San Diego Bar Association.

Read more
Answered on 8/21/22, 8:35 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in California