Legal Question in Entertainment Law in California

They stole my music!

A company recently put out at DVD in which they used music from

local bands as a soundtrack. This company used one of my songs

that I wrote and recorded, but never contacted me about the use of

my music and recording. So I never signed a release or even was

able to read the terms of their release form. Not only did they use

my recorded music with out permission they also put the wrong

band name on the DVD case so there is less exposure, credit, and

advertisement given to my band in comparison to the other bands

on the DVD. They are also selling the DVD and making money off

of the bands that were used. I'm not sure what my rights are or

what to do in this situation... so if anyone has any insight and or

advice I sure would appreciate it.

-Thank you

Asked on 9/19/05, 9:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Christopher M. Brainard, Esq. C. M. Brainard & Associates - (310) 266-4115

Re: They stole my music!

Yes, they stole your music. You should contact me immediately. Have you attained a copy of the DVD they are selling? I'm on the westside.

Read more
Answered on 9/19/05, 9:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in California