Legal Question in Family Law in California

If I worked overtime 65-75 hours a week to support my wife and 2 kids as my wife refused to work even though she states she was a "stay at home mom" and both my kids are now over 18, does the spousal support get calculated at me continuing to work that many hours for the entire duration of spousal support or can it be based on a normal 40 hour work week since I no longer need to work that many hours now that my children are both adults?

Asked on 11/06/13, 2:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gary R. White Burton & White

Support is calculated based upon what you actually make. If there is an existing order based upon the overtime income and you no longer work the overtime, you need to request a modification of support.

Read more
Answered on 11/07/13, 2:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California