Legal Question in Medical Leave in California

I will be going on maternity leave soon. I am taking 12 weeks of paid leave, and plan to take an additional 6 weeks of unpaid leave. However, my employer is making me pay for the full amount of my health insurance ($2300 a month) after 12 weeks of leave. After reading the FMLA act, I'm not sure that they can legally make me pay for all the costs of the health insurance during my unpaid leave. Can they? I expected to just pay my normal premium amount.

Asked on 6/13/14, 6:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kristine Karila Law Office of Kristine S. Karila

They can require it IF they require it of others. If not, you may have a claim for gender/pregnancy discrimination.

Read more
Answered on 6/14/14, 10:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in California